The Hypocritic Oath

It’s Nice When A Plot Comes Together

Posted in Uncategorized by trinkwasser on September 15, 2009

Mark Sisson (whose blog I have been missing out on while I read other stuff, quite inexcusable really, but he and his contributors are so damn prolific) had a whinge about Conventional Wisdom not once but twice.

Dead on cue, when I logged in earlier I had a notification of  a couple of blog posts that might be related.

Here’s one.  And here’s the post it references.

Pretty damn good stuff! (And look at the dates)

Mary Vernon’s blog no longer seems to be there but here she is interviewed by Jimmy Moore.

It goes on: the ADA rebuked Adam Campbell for the original Men’s Health interview, and he replied a few years later.

The first of these two items contains a very valuable shortlist of relevant papers, the second is yet another boring old success story similar to all those thousands of boring old success stories I’ve been reading for years on many different diabetes (and other) forums and blogs.

JUST ONCE I’d like to read a story where someone cut their carbs and all (or even one) of the dire predictions their Health Care Professionals made actually came true.

If you’re not totally bored yet here’s a thread from the ADA Forum which is the sort of “not evidence” you might expect the world’s leading diabetes charity to want to study forthwith

(taps fingers impatiently)

Anyway, gotta go, I now have a couple more blogs and a few more papers to plough through . . .

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jimmy Moore said, on September 16, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    THANKS for the information about Dr. Mary Vernon in your post. Here are a few more links of interest for people who’d like to hear what this amazing woman has to say about carbohydrate-restriction and health, especially for diabetics:

    MARCH 2007: http://www.thelivinlowcarbshow.com/shownotes/395/jimmy-moore-interviews-dr-mary-c-vernon-episode-50/

    JANUARY 2009: http://www.thelivinlowcarbshow.com/shownotes/445/dr-mary-c-vernon-atkins-nutritionals-presents-best-of-2008-‘encore-week’-episode-216/

    I’ll have her again in January 2010 as well. ENJOY!

  2. trinkwasser said, on September 16, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Damn, I haven’t added you to my resources yet either. I need staff!

  3. Jimmy Moore said, on September 16, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    It’s all good! I’m adding your blog to my next big blog update. 😀

    • trinkwasser said, on September 16, 2009 at 8:36 pm

      I can remember the sixties/early seventies

      “Every day more of us are born
      Every day more of them die”

      In the end that didn’t come to much, but this “Alternative Diet Society” is absolutely ballooning (unlike the waistlines of the perpetrators) I keep getting bogged down in reading new sources when I should finish listing the ones I already know.

      After this coffee I think I’ll start adding “Dietary Resources”, a lot of you don’t really fit into “Diabetes Resources” though your work is relevant, obviously


Leave a Reply

