The Hypocritic Oath

Cognitive Dissonance

Posted in Uncategorized by trinkwasser on September 3, 2009

Following a recent post about the history of diabetes diets, I was pointed to this horror story

Nutritional advice for people with diabetes: past, present, what next?

Dr B Thomas, BSc, PhD, SRD

The dietary management of diabetes has undergone enormous change in the last 20 years following the realisation that inflexible regimens dominated by carbohydrate and sucrose restriction were inappropriate. Modem dietary guidelines aim to optimise not just the management of glycaemia but other parameters which influence microvascular and cardiovascular risk such as dyslipidaemia, adiposity and hypertension. Patients are no longer expected to follow standardised diets, but are encouraged to make adjustments to existing eating habits in a way which achieves permanent and beneficial change. Future management is likely to be dominated by the rising prevalence of type 2 diabetes in both adults and children and the need to find effective ways of preventing and correcting obesity.

Gradually there was a dawning awareness in Western countries that a low carbohydrate, high saturated fat diet might not be the best choice for an atherogenically at-risk group of patients. If such a diet was also unnecessary, then its continued use was inexcusable.

The greatest challenge in the future will be to stem the rising tide of obesity and the type 2 diabetes which will follow in its wake. While it is clear that prevention and management of obesity are the key to prevention of type 2 diabetes, there is as yet no blueprint as to how this is to be achieved in a population which shows little sign of relinquishing its fondness for energy-dense convenience foods and a sedentary lifestyle.

HELLO???

EARTH TO DR THOMAS!

Back in the 1930s a diabetic diet contained 15% carbs and 68% fat.

Back in the 1930s did Type 2 diabetes progress in the alarming way it does now?

Back in the 1930s were there “epidemics” of obesity and cardiovascular disease like there are today?

“Modern dietary guidelines” are obviously NOT optimising dyslipidaemia, adiposity and hypertension.

<fume>

MY dislipidemia, adiposity and hypertension all improved markedly when I STOPPED following modern dietary guidelines, along with those of thousands of other people.

Plus my food has never been more tasty.

It’s not as if it’s hard, I eat lots of meat, lots of fish, lots of veggies, some cheese and nuts, few fruits (mostly berries) and avoid starch, particularly grains and especially wheat, and processed Omega 6 vegetable oils. Yes I missed the bread and muesli and brown rice a bit at first but I managed to break the addiction, led by my trusty BG meter and the fact that I have far fewer symptoms and far more energy without the need to snack, as well as the improved numbers.

Once in a while I “cheat”, I expect I will do so this weekend as I have a vegetarian visitor and we’ll probably go for a pub or restaurant meal. This serves to remind me how crap I feel when I spike my BG and keeps me from doing it too often, no matter how loud the starch calls my name and reminds me of my previous diet.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. trinkwasser said, on September 6, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    This actually went better than I was expecting, I only hit 5.4 after a meal carbier than I am used to last night, and 6.2 after today’s lunch. For which I entirely blame the huge reductions in insulin resistance I have made and maintained. My carb limits for breakfast haven’t changed much at around 15g (though even that gave me a wee problem the other day, for some reason my FBG was 5.5 and my post-breakfast + 1 hour hit 7.4. Only a temporary glitch though as the rest of the day including my postprandials was nailed between 4 and substantially less than 6)

    What seems to be occurring is that on occasion I can bump up the carbs later in the day and get away with it. Not that my experience leads me to believe I would get away with it if I did it more often.

    A low carbohydrate high saturated fat diet is definitely the one my body works best with. Long term it even works well enough that I can get away with the occasional cheat with far fewer problems than previously. Telling me not to follow it is inexcusable.


Leave a Reply

